Which countries are not affected by President Trump’s travel ban?

The majority of people in the United States are not affected by these travel restrictions, but there are some exceptions to the bans on travel.

Do not travel to:




Iraqi Kurds




Syria and parts of Libya and Iraq are officially designated by the United States as countries of “primary concern.” (This means their governments have failed to protect their citizens from terrorist groups, and their governments do not cooperate with United States efforts to target those groups, among other issues.)

Those foreign nationals must still obtain a “general license” from the State Department if they wish to travel to the United States. Per the State Department’s site, those who are not allowed to travel include persons who are, for example, foreign nationals of a country designated by the State Department as a “country of primary concern” or “country of particular concern,” noncitizens of countries that have “significant, ongoing criminal activity,” and those who are responsible for “significant, ongoing acts of terrorism” and those “with credible ties to terrorism.”

Travelers must obtain at least a day’s notice before travel, and only those who are “high-risk” or “credible threats” can be granted waivers to the general-license requirement. Visitors from countries that are “state sponsors of terrorism” such as Iran and Syria are banned from entering the United States entirely.

People from the following countries are still able to enter the United States through “sensitive diplomatic locations”:




Hong Kong






Visitors from these countries who have “first-hand knowledge of sensitive facilities” or who pose a “security threat” are still allowed to enter the United States but can only enter for up to 90 days.




Guatemala is a “region of heightened concern” for terrorist groups, according to the State Department, but people from the country are also allowed to enter the United States from cities like Mexico City, and Casablanca, Morocco, and Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

Turkey and Pakistan are two countries which require visitors to obtain waivers. Visitors from Turkey are allowed into New York City, but they must be interviewed by an official from the U.S. Consulate in Istanbul. Only those with “credible ties to terrorism” are allowed into Pakistan, and they must appear before a U.S. embassy or consulate on arrival.

Leave a Comment